The new Prime Minister Boris Johnson has announced the new members of the Cabinet in what has been widely seen as a bloodbath of ministers of the previous administration.

A total of 12 different ministers were either fired or resigned, including Jeremy Hunt, Chris Grayling, Liam Fox and Penny Mordaunt.

Among his picks is Sajid Javid, another candidate for the Conservative leadership, who takes his place as Chancellor – the first BAME person to hold the position.

Former International Development Secretary Priti Patel becomes Home Secretary, with Dominic Raab, another Conseravtive leadership candidate and former Brexit Secretary, taking up the role of Foreign Secretary.

Also of note is Jacob Rees-Mogg, who takes up a new role as Leader of the House of Commons.

Among those keeping their jobs include Matt Hancock who remains Health Secretary, Amber Rudd who stays at Work and Pensions, and Geoffrey Cox who keeps his position as Attorney General.

Who’s who in the new Cabinet?

  • Sajid Javid – Chancellor (moved)
  • Priti Patel – Home Secretary (new)
  • Dominic Raab – Foreign Secretary (new)
  • Stephen Barclay – Brexit Secretary
  • Michael Gove – Chancellor to the Duchy of Lancaster (moved)
  • Ben Wallace – Defence Secretary (moved)
  • Liz Truss – International Trade Secretary (moved)
  • Matt Hancock – Health Secretary
  • Theresa Villiers – Environment Secretary (new)
  • Gavin Williamson – Education Secretary (new)
  • Nicky Morgan – Culture Secretary (new)
  • Andrea Leadsom – Business Secretary (moved)
  • Robert Jenrick – Housing Secretary (moved)
  • Amber Rudd – Work and Pensions Secretary
  • Robert Buckland – Lord Chancellor and Justice Secretary (moved)
  • Alok Sharma – International Development Secretary (moved)
  • Grant Shapps – Transport Secretary (new)
  • Alister Jack – Scottish Secretary (moved)
  • Alun Cairns – Welsh Secretary
  • Julian Smith – Northern Ireland Secretary (moved)
  • Geoffrey Cox – Attorney General
  • James Cleverly – Minister without Portfolio and Conservative Party Chairman (new)
  • Jacob Rees-Mogg – Leader of the House of Commons