Credit: Pixabay

Voters go to the polls in Britain’s fourth election in a decade on December 12th. In Brighton and Hove, residents will be choosing their MPs across three constituencies; Brighton Pavilion, Brighton Kemptown and Hove.

At the 2017 election, the city elected two Labour MPs (Peter Kyle in Hove and Lloyd Russell-Moyle in Brighton Kemptown) and the country’s only Green MP (Caroline Lucas in Brighton Pavilion).

In the city’s local elections earlier this year, the Green Party gained eight seats (from 11 to 19) and won the most votes. However, Labour remained the largest party on the council with 20 seats.

In the European elections in May, a majority of Brighton and Hove residents voted overwhelmingly for the Green Party, with 35.5 percent of the vote.

The city, home to almost 300,000 people and two universities, voted strongly to remain in the 2016 referendum.

Brighton Pavilion

Caroline Lucas, the UK’s only Green MP, has represented Brighton Pavilion since the 2010 general election. At the last election in 2017, Lucas held the seat with a majority of over 14,000 votes with 52.3 percent.

Lucas will be standing for re-election on December 12th, supported by the Unite to Remain electoral pact. As part of this agreement, the Liberal Democrats will not be standing a candidate in the seat.

Five other parties and an independent candidate are standing against Lucas.

Labour is standing a former council election candidate – Adam Imanpour.

The Conservatives and the Brexit Party are also running in the seat, with Emma Hogan and Richard Milton respectively.

One of UKIP’s 42 candidates in this election is also standing in the constituency, with former council candidate Nigel Furness standing for the party.

The Official Monster Raving Looney Party is also standing one of its 24 candidates in Brighton Pavilion, with ‘Citizen Skwith’. Another Looney candidate is also running in Hove.

Bob Dobbs is running as the seat’s only independent candidate.

The Pavilion constituency is made up of both of the city’s university campuses, as well as the wards of Hanover and Elm Grove, Hollingdean and Stanmer, Patcham, Preston Park, Regency, St Peter’s and North Laine, and Withdean.

Brighton Kemptown

Brighton Kemptown, a Conservative seat for over a decade, was won by Labour’s Lloyd Russell-Moyle at the last election, defeating Simon Kirby with a majority of almost 10,000.

At the last election, a number of smaller parties, including the Green Party and UKIP, did not stand candidates in the seat.

However, when voters go to the polls in Brighton Kemptown next month, they will have the choice of (currently) five different political parties and an independent candidate.

Lloyd Russell-Moyle, the current Labour MP, is standing for re-election against the Conservative candidate Joe Miller – a sitting councillor for the Rottingdean Coastal ward.

Alexandra Phillips, the Green MEP for the South East of England, sitting councillor for the Regency ward, and Mayor of Brighton and Hove, is also running for election in the constituency.

The Brexit Party and the Liberal Democrats are also standing candidates in the seat, with Graham Cushway and Ben Thomas respectively.

The Kemptown constituency covers the Brighton and Hove wards of East Brighton, Moulsecoomb and Bevendean, Queen’s Park, Rottingdean Coastal and Rottingdean. The seat also covers wards in nearby Lewes, namely East Saltdean and Telscombe Cliffs, as well as Peacehaven East, North and West.


Hove was a stronghold for the Conservative Party until 1997 when it was won by Labour. The Tories regained the seat briefly in 2010, until Labour regained Hove in 2015 with their candidate Peter Kyle.

At the last election, Kyle increased a narrow majority of just over 1,000 to close to 20,000 with 64 percent of the vote.

Kyle is standing again for re-election and is currently facing candidates from three parties; the Conservatives, the Green Party and the Liberal Democrats.

Robert Nemeth, sitting councillor for Wish ward, is standing as the Conservative Party candidate, former councillor Oliver Sykes is standing for the Green Party, and Beatrice Bass is the candidate for the Liberal Democrats.

The Brexit Party and the Official Monster Raving Looney Party are also standing candidates, with Angela Hancock and Dame Dixon respectively.

Charlotte Sabel, an activist based in Hove, is the only independent running in the seat.

The constituency covers Hove and Portslade, including the wards of Brunswick and Adelaide, Central Hove, Goldsmid, Hangleton and Knoll, Hove Park, North Portslade, South Portslade, Westbourne and Wish.